Play the piano?? But, I’m on a BREAK!

This is how I’ve looked like pretty much for the past three days. I would like to say that I look like this because I’ve been working so hard all day, but the truth is that I’ve just been lazy. Yes, the obsessive-compulsive part of me is TRYING to make me feel guilty…but then again, that’s the whole point of having a BREAK, to take time off the crazy schedule of regular work work work days.

I hope that most of you can find some time to relax and enjoy the time off or some time off. Even though I’m on a break right now, there are several things that I keep doing. For example, I went to the gym today and worked out like I always do (yes, I must admit I took some days off, but that was only because I wasn’t in town). Tomorrow, we will probably take time to tidy up the house.

I can name many more things, but I can categorize all of them into one word: lifestyle.  Our lifestyle is what we normally do regardless of the time of year.  This is very important to note because I’d like to invite students and parents alike to do one thing.  I’d like to invite you to make playing the piano part of your lifestyle.  I think it’s more of a decision more than anything.  But, deciding HOW you view things makes a world of a difference. You see, if you always categorize piano as an “extra” in your life, then it will never be close to being a priority.

Be aware that I am not suggesting more of anything, simply, a change of how you categorize piano playing in your life.  Start today, start this week.  You have the perfect opportunity to practice this new view.  Don’t take this holiday as a break from piano.  You have a break from piano lessons, but sit at the piano everyday…at some point in your day…whether it be 10 minutes, or 40 minutes.  Take pride in your talent, take pride in your effort, take pride because this is just another one of those blessings that many others wished they had and don’t.

Leave a Reply

